Week 6 Day 37 – 800m repeats

I’m going to be honest. I haven’t really ever done speed work. There are some really nice benefits to adding in speed work during marathon training (good article on that here) but for some reason I just didn’t want to do it. So I didn’t. But then I got the idea in my head about qualifying for the Boston Marathon and knew I would need some speed work to achieve the goal. There is no track nearby where I live and driving to the local high school to utilize their track is just not something I am comfortable with. My neighborhood is too hilly which makes it nearly impossible to find enough space to do 800m repeats without running up or downhill. So that leaves me with the treadmill. My goal was to do 8 x 800m with a warm-up mile and a cool-down mile.

photo (1)

As you can see, I only did 6 x 800m but I am proud of that. I ran faster than I think I should have which I will make sure to adjust this Tuesday. I am hoping slowing down a little will allow me to complete all 8 before I burn out!

Next week is the Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon in VA Beach and I am so excited!! If the weather on the days leading up to race day is any indication of what the temperature and humidity will be like at the start, I am not so sure my PR will happen!

photo

I have been struggling with what to wear for this race since I signed up!! Racing shorts or compression shorts? Tank top, shirt, or no shirt? If no shirt, what sports bra?! Too many choices!!

And speaking of racing clothes, I have been on a quest ever since I grew boobs to find the perfect sports bra. I bought 2 new sports bras off Amazon.com the other day and can’t wait to try them out! One is considered a “tri-top” for triathletes but I wanted to try it out anyway. The first one I bought is the Moving Comfort Women’s Rebound Racer and the tri-top one is the Pearl Izumi Women’s Elite Inrcool Tri Crop Top

I also bought a new sportband for my iPhone 5 (also from Amazon.com) since the one I have been using is meant for the iPhone 4 and therefore doesn’t provide the best fit. I ordered the Sporteer Armband for iPhone 5/iPod touch so hopefully I will have a good review for that product as well. Stay tuned for reviews!

I am also still in the market for a new pair of running shoes. I cannot make up my mind. I am still looking at the Brooks Pure line of shoes and the Nike Flyknit Lunar but I keep hearing good things about the Saucony Kinvara. Major dilemma over here!!

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 6 Day 37 – 800m repeats

  1. Pingback: Week 7 Day 44 – Treadmill Tuesday | Runthusiast

Leave a Reply

