Week 7 Day 44 – Treadmill Tuesday

After a few days off due to schedule conflicts with my husband, I was finally able to get back on track this week. Yesterday, I did a warm-up run on the treadmill and then completed Ab Ripper X. I have not missed the treadmill and I’m still trying to figure out how this night runner is going to get my runs completed before it gets dark outside. I’m not a morning person and every time I have tried to fake it, I’ve had a terrible workout and felt sluggish the entire time. It’s just not for me unless I’m running a race. Thankfully, the adrenaline at the start of a race is enough to jump start my body. Too bad every day isn’t race day 🙂

Today, after a warmup of P90X “legs and back”, I ran half-mile sprints on the treadmill. It has become a staple for me on Tuesdays hence “Treadmill Tuesday.” I’m so glad I’ve incorporated speed work back into my training and can’t wait to see it pay off for me in the future! I was able to complete 2 more than last week by decreasing the speed just a little. I ran 8 total (with 3 minutes of rest in between each one) and they went like this:

• .5 mile sprint, 3:25
• .5 mile sprint, 3:25
• .5 mile sprint, 3:25
• .5 mile sprint, 3:28
• .5 mile sprint, 3:28
• .5 mile sprint, 3:28
• .5 mile sprint, 3:27
• .5 mile sprint, 3:24

I felt really good during my workout and was happy to be working up a sweat again, even if it was indoors. I love running sprints on the treadmill because I can easily track my speed and pace and run exactly the speed I need to without slowing down as I become fatigued. It also pushes me to keep going towards the end since the belt moving beneath me would fly me straight into the wall behind me if I stopped. Next week, I am going to try and incorporate 10 burpees during each rest period just for an extra kick in the butt!

Also, the sports bras I ordered came over the past few days and when I am done testing them out, I will make sure to do a review of my thoughts on them! Read the original post here: Week 6 Day 37 – 800m repeats

Tomorrow and Thursday will be my last days of workouts before taking Friday and Saturday off to physically and mentally prepare myself for the Rock N Roll half marathon in VA Beach on Sunday, September 1st. I’m thoroughly excited for this race and am hoping to PR by over 5 minutes. Lets hope the weather cooperates! My predicted finish time is 1:52. My goal is to get as close to or below 1:50 as possible. I think I can, I think I can, I think I can….therefore I know I can!

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

