Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 1

Week 1 is in the books and I am very happy with how it went! It was quite challenging trying to create a schedule that provided me with enough runs throughout the week, enough strength training to remain healthy, enough rest days to recovery properly, and also conformed to my custody schedule. I have my sweet daughters on a 2-2-3 schedule and on my “on” days, I want to spend all the time I have with them so my runs have to be completed at random times throughout the day. I think I’ve figured out a good, flexible schedule.

Technically my training plan runs from Sunday to Saturday but I had such a great long run on Saturday before training started so I wanted to include it here! Let’s get to the daily recaps.

Bonus Saturday: 11 miles @ an 8:11 average pace.  I missed negative splits by one mile but ended with a nice fast finish (8:50, 8:37, 8:25, 8:18, 8:28 (darn!), 8:17, 8:08, 7:58, 7:45, 7:43, 7:30). I got a late start on the run due to tire issues with Kevin’s bike (he decided to ride alongside me for company) so it was quite warm by the time we got started and I soon regretted wearing a long sleeved shirt. It took most of the run for me to finally ditch the shirt (I’m weird about running in just a sports bra) but once I did, I was much happier. My legs felt really great on this run and it was my longest run in almost a year so I was pretty thrilled!

0cdb0eae-1a61-4558-918f-1ca76bea8005

Sunday: Unscheduled rest day. This was supposed to be a strength training day but I stayed out a bit too late the night before with Kevin and his sister and brother-in-law so I decided to take it as a rest day. I spent the day watching football (read: cursing at the TV because the Steelers decided to buy into the whole “trap game” business down in Miami) and relaxing on the couch.

Monday: 6 mile tempo run (7:46, 7:46, 7:40, 7:39, 7:36, 7:20) @ a 7:37 average pace. This run was a struggle to complete due to the effects of Saturday night and skipping dinner on Sunday (just never had much of an appetite). I was able to get it done though and all my miles were in my goal range. I had to get this run done in the morning because its one of my days with the girls and I was picking them up after work.

img_1916

Tuesday: Unscheduled strength training day. Thanks to Sunday, I had to make up for my missed strength training workout. I got a late start and was afraid my lacking motivation would result in not giving it enough effort but I was able to pull through with my oldest daughter watching and playing along. She appreciated the extra time with mommy over bedtime! I don’t go to a gym so I have to make do with some free weights, a kettle bell, and some therapy bands I have. The routine consisted of the following in sets of 3:

  • 50 kettlebell swings
  • 20 goblet squats (with 25lb kettlebell)
  • Walking side lunges with therapy band (7 steps up and back 5 times)
  • 20 Single leg squats (10 on each side)
  • 50 glute bridges
  • 60 second plank


Wednesday: 5 easy paced miles @ an 8:41 average pace.  I had been feeling some sciatic pain in my left leg for the past few weeks so before this run I decided to get checked out by a local sports chiropractor. After seeing the chiropractor to get some adjustments (and oddly placed KT Tape strips on my lower back) I was eager to get running. Unfortunately, I didn’t take into account that it was 90 degrees outside (in late October!) and I spent most of the run asking myself “is it over yet?!” I have trouble running consistent paces throughout a run (hello progression runs!!) so I made sure to run the first mile nice and slow and then did a bit of watch stalking for the remaining miles to keep the pace even. Splits were 8:41, 8:41, 8:40, 8:43, 8:41.

img_1937

Thursday: 3×1 mile repeats (6:53, 6:52, 6:51) with 800m recovery plus 1 mile warm up and 1 mile cool down for a total of 6 miles @ an 8:05 average pace. I had to complete this run at a mostly flat shopping center before work because there are no local tracks that I feel comfortable going to in the early morning hours since it is still semi-dark out. I was feeling motivated but also nervous as I hadn’t done speedwork in a few weeks. I learned a valuable lesson during this run about eating an egg burrito with jalapeños and hot sauce 30 minutes beforehand. Holy heartburn. Regardless, I was very consistent and each mile was progressively faster (barely 😜).

img_1962

Friday: Scheduled rest day.  I took Stephanie to the pumpkin patch in the morning with her preschool class. We picked pumpkins, learned about how they grow, saw some pigs, turkeys, chickens, goats, and sheep, played in the hay barn, and had a picnic lunch. I loved getting that one on one time with her. Afterwards, I went to work until 4 and then picked up the girls from my stepmom, their daycare provider. The rest of the night was spent watching movies and eating popcorn!


Saturday: 12 mile long run @ an 8:32 average pace. Splits were 8:47, 8:41, 8:33, 8:32, 8:41, 8:22, 8:28, 8:26, 8:34, 8:34, 8:16, and 8:20. I decided to run the same route as my last long run plus 1 mile. I like the route location, the changes in scenery, and it’s not too hilly. The marathon I’m training for is mostly flat so I don’t really want to do too much hill running. It was quite chilly out this time around and I made sure to dress appropriately but there was nothing I could do to prepare for how windy it was. Gusts up to 25mph made some miles quite challenging!


Total miles for the week: 29

I was able to complete each run as it was prescribed as well as make time for stretching and foam rolling afterwards. At the end of week 1 I feel fresh and ready to tackle week 2. I am also looking into some races to sign up for to supplement my training. One race I know I will be running is the local Turkey Trot 5k on Thanksgiving morning. I am hoping to beat my current PR that I achieved in the same race last year (right before I got injured).

More to come next week!

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 1

  1. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 3 | Runthusiast

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 2 | Runthusiast

  3. Rick says:

    Great info. Lucky me I came across your blog by accident
    (stumbleupon). I have saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

