Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 2

Another week of training is in the books. Here’s how it went.

Sunday: Scheduled rest day. Spent the day watching football and playing with the kiddos. I did sneak in some physical therapy exercises for my legs. At the beginning of the year my PT told me I could do them as often as I felt necessary so I do try and do them most days.

Monday: 7 total miles – 5 mile tempo run @ a 7:30 average pace plus 2 easy miles with Kevin. Splits for the tempo were 7:41, 7:43, 7:32, 7:19, and 7:15. I was supposed to run 6 but decided to cut it down to 5 and then joined Kevin on his run for 2 more miles. The first 2.5 were so windy and it took a lot of effort to hold my pace but the last 2.5 were a breeze as you can see by the drop in my pace!

img_2089

Tuesday: 4 mile easy run @ an 8:42 average pace. Splits were 8:54, 8:43, 8:39, and 8:29. I ran completely based off feel but made sure to keep it nice and slow. My training plan doesn’t have very many easy runs, about one per week, so I make sure to enjoy these to the fullest.


Wednesday: 6 miles at goal marathon pace @ a 7:58 average pace. Splits were 8:03, 7:59, 7:59, 7:56, 7:52, and 7:52.  I chose not to watch stalk to keep the pace at an even 8:00 and instead went by feel and occasionally glanced down which seemed to work well. I want to get used to running this pace by feel. One downside to the run was that it was so chilly outside! 39 degrees! My hands and forearms were numb nearly the entire time which was uncomfortable to say the least. It’s time for me to invest in my cold weather running gear!

Thursday: Strength training day. I did my prescribed strength training routine after I put my daughters to bed. I didn’t think I’d have the energy to get it done after all the silliness and stress the girls brought home but I forced myself to at least start and ended up finding the energy to make it count while switching between the Penguins game and Thursday Night Football. The workout was 3 sets of the following:

  • 50 kettlebell swings
  • 25 goblet squats (with 25lb kettlebell)
  • Walking side lunges with therapy band (7 steps up and back 5 times)
  • 20 Single leg squats (10 on each side)
  • 50 glute bridges
  • 60 second plank

Friday: Rest day. After work, I met Kevin in Woodbridge and we tried out a new brewery that opened up called Brew Republic. We shared a flight of some amazing beer and then went to Brixx for pizza. We ended the night catching up on some of our favorite TV shows!


Saturday: 13 miles @ an 8:23 average pace with the last two as a fast finish (7:17, 7:27).  I know lots of runners hate the treadmill but I’m not one of those runners. My new treadmill came yesterday and I had to test drive it so I ran 8 of my first 13 on it while laughing hysterically at a Louis CK comedy special. Then I headed out into the neighborhood for 2 miles with Kevin and the last 3 alone with a fast finish. I got back to the house and realized I had only run 4 miles and needed one more which is a little disheartening when you’ve just run 12 miles but back out I went! This was one of the best long runs I’ve had in a long time regardless. My legs felt amazing. Afterwards, I came inside to some sweet notes reminding me to hydrate and stretch. 😍 Now we’re off to Richmond to enjoy this beautiful day! ☀️

Total miles for the week: 30

I had a great week of training and got all my runs done feeling strong and confident. I stretched thoroughly and foam rolled after each run and it has started to become habit which is great. My treadmill came towards the end of the week and I know it’s going to get some decent use over this training cycle and I’m actually excited about that. I love having the option of running on a treadmill because it opens up a lot more possibilities for getting runs done when life gets in the way or the weather isn’t ideal. Onto week 3!

Last weeks training recap:

Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 1

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 2

  1. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 3 | Runthusiast

Leave a Reply

