Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 3

Week 3 brought some challenges but also some successes as well! The week started off with Halloween and tons of candy (that is still there taunting me) and rambunctious children that didn’t want to sleep. Admittedly that’s our fault for giving them candy before bed but we like to live dangerously. I also dealt with being sick which pretty much messed up the week training wise but I’d rather that happen now as opposed to later on. I was however able to get all the miles in with a little bit of rearranging so I’m happy about that! Here’s how it went!

Sunday: Scheduled rest day watching football!

Monday: 5 mile tempo run @ a 7:39 average pace. Splits were 7:51, 7:38, 7:43, 7:47, 7:15. I completed this run on the treadmill due to some paving being done in the neighborhood. Each mile felt nice and steady, minus the last mile, but any variation or change in my arm swings seems to affect my pace so they’re a little wacky. I still felt like this was a great run and it’s in my goal range so I’m happy with it! After work we took the kids trick-or-treating and it was the cutest thing!

Tuesday: Unscheduled rest day. I was supposed to do a strength training routine but I started feeling under the weather so I listened to my body and took a rest day. I think I caught a cold from my oldest daughter. I hope to make it up sometime later in the week if I’m feeling better by then. If not, I won’t stress over it too much as it’s so early in my training.

Wednesday: 6 mile easy run @ an 8:58 average pace. I ran 3 with Kevin and 3 alone. I was still feeling under the weather – I think I have a cold. Runny nose, sneezing, coughing. Not pleasant! – but since all my symptoms are from the neck up, I chose to run. I can tell in the picture we took that I hadn’t gotten good sleep and I was definitely feeling ill. Splits were 9:04, 8:44, 8:54, 9:15, 9:04, 8:51.

Thursday: I decided to skip my prescribed workout of 3×1 mile repeats with 800m recovery plus warm up and cool down for 6 total miles. I called in sick to work and stayed on the couch working from home all day. It pained me to skip this workout but I know my body needed the rest.

Friday: Scheduled rest day. I had gone through about 3 boxes of tissues so far but I was finally feeling on the mend though still very weak. We picked up the kids for our weekend and had a nice pizza dinner in preparation for my 14 miler on Saturday.

Saturday: I could tell right when I woke up that 14 miles wasn’t happening. I still wanted to get my 6 miles from Thursday in this week so I pushed my long run to Sunday and ran whatever felt good on the treadmill. I finished @ an 8:11 average pace. Splits were 8:31, 8:06 (pushed the pace for half a mile to see how I felt), 8:26, 8:17, 8:06, 7:42. Afterwards I got the girls their flu shots and then we headed to my parents house for the day for a chili cook off! Yum!

Bonus Sunday: 14 mile long run @ an 8:38 average pace. Making up for my missed 6 mile run yesterday made my long run this morning feel harder than I should have felt for sure. Not to mention I’m still coming back from being sick. But it’s done! 7 miles on the treadmill (8:45 average) and then 7 miles outdoors (8:32 average). We then took the kids to Sweet Frog for ice cream, to get haircuts, and then to Target for new shoes. Now I can focus on spending the rest of the day with  the family watching some football!


Total mileage for the week: 31 (counting Sundays long run towards this week)

I am so ready for week 4. It’s a cutback week!

Last weeks training recap:

Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 2

 

 

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 3

  1. Smart training to know your body wasn’t in the mood for 14 and move it!

  2. Pingback: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training Week 4 | Runthusiast

Leave a Reply

