Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 4

Cutback week!! I was very thankful for this week. As I mentioned last week, Sunday’s typical rest day was spent running 14 miles because I had to rearrange my runs due to sickness that I STILL dealt with until late in the week. One positive to the week was that I bought some new running shoes! My Wave Hitogami’s were nearing 200 miles which seems to be the cutoff for me. I decided to take a step back from such a minimalist shoe since my mileage is on the uptick and went back to an old friend, the Wave Sayonara. However, I ended up deciding to return them after testing them out. My right foot felt jammed in the toebox (same issue with my previous pair) so back they went. I ordered two other pairs from Nee Balance, the Fresh Foam Zante v2 and the Vazee Pace v2 and they ended up working out quite well! So, here’s how the week played out for me.

Sunday: See last week.

Monday: Strength training day. After work, I laced up my shiny new shoes – Mizuno Wave Sayonara 4 – and got to work. I did kettlebell swings, walking side lunges with a therapy band, goblet squats with the kettlebell, single leg squats, glute bridges, and planks. I felt a little nauseous the entire time which I’m not entirely sure why but it is probably related to being sick still. I realized during the workout that the new shoes weren’t going to work for me because the same issue I had with the previous version – my right foot felt jammed in the toebox – was still there in the current version and sizing up wouldn’t be an option. Afterwards, Kevin and I went to Wegmans for some dinner and groceries before coming home to watch Gotham and Quantico, two of our favorite shows!

Tuesday: Election Day! I still wasn’t feeling well and woke up feeling pressure in my face and jaw. Every sneeze, cough, or attempt to blow my nose was met with intense pain in my head. So, after work I went to the doctor and he confirmed I was dealing with a sinus infection and prescribed me an antibiotic to help. Afterwards, I – probably foolishly – ran 3 easy miles in my old running shoes – Mizuno Wave Hitogami 3 – before Kevin and I headed to the polls to vote. It’s going to be an interesting 4 years…

Wednesday: Unscheduled rest day. I was feeling even worse than previous days and I was 24 hours into taking my antibiotics. I chose to rest and try and get as much sleep as I could before spending the next two days with the kiddos. Just want to be over this nastiness already!!

Thursday: 4 miles on the treadmill @ an 8:14 average pace. Splits were 8:11, 8:22, 8:12, and 8:11. What a day! After work, I picked up the girls and the boys and headed home. I’m not used to getting home when it’s dark out. It stresses me out and makes me feel rushed!! After all the mom duties were completed, I hopped on the treadmill for some miles in my new New Balance Fresh Foam Zante shoes. I’m still up in the air about them. I will find my perfect shoe soon!! Today was the first day I finally felt like I was moving past being sick. Phew!


Friday: Rest day. I took this cutback week pretty seriously due to being sick. I had the day off for Veterans Day. Kevin decided to take the day off with me and we spent the day together without a plan. It was a blast! We went to the mall and bought glow in the dark stars and planets for the kids room (at their request), went clothes shopping, had lunch at a restaurant, went home and took a nap, went to the movies, came back home and had some dinner, had our own little beer tasting, and caught up on some of our tv shows. Such a great day!

Saturday: 8 mile long run @ an 8:11 average pace. I set out late in the morning to give the temperature a chance to warm up. I felt really great so I ended up doing a fast finish. Splits were 8:54, 8:24, 8:23, 8:15, 8:21, 7:41, and 7:09. I’m happy to report I finally found my shoes!! I tried out the New Balance Vazee Pace today for the final run of the cutback week and I am in love! Later that day we went to Richmond with my parents and met up with my brother and his girlfriend for dinner. The Richmond Marathon was that morning and I had a friend in town cheering for her husband so we also got to meet up with her for a bit at Hardywood Brewery! That’s a wrap for week 4!


Total Mileage for the week: 15 

Last weeks training recap:

Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 3

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

