Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 5

Yes! I finally feel better! No more sinus infection, no more sneezing, no more blowing my nose. I am dealing with a lingering cough but that is nothing compared to last week. I was itching to get back into the harder parts of my training plan after my first cutback week which makes me think I did a good job at truly cutting back! Here’s how it went.

Sunday: Rest day. Spent the day watching football with Kevin and our friend Mike. Are you seeing the trend for Sunday’s yet? 😊

Monday: 1 up, 4 tempo, 1 down for 6 total miles @ a 7:42 average pace. Tempo splits were 7:30, 7:26, 7:22, and 7:18. Yay for a progressive tempo run! I wore my one and only marathon tech shirt from the Anthem Richmond Marathon I ran in 2013 for some extra inspiration for this run. It was pretty cold – in the high 30s – and I realized I need to get ready to break out the cold weather running gear so I ordered these running gloves and this beanie off Amazon! I can’t wait to test them out!

Tuesday: Strength training day. I got home from work, made dinner for everyone, got the kids bathed, did the bedtime routine, and then headed to the basement. This workout was such a confidence booster for a few reasons. I did the normal routine but was able to take less rest between sets, wasn’t as wobbly during the single leg exercises, and upped my plank hold from 60 seconds to 75 seconds. I’m feeling stronger and I know this is contributing to my health and keeping me injury free! The workout was the following combination:

  • kettlebell swings (50×3)
  • goblet squats (20×3)
  • side lunges with therapy band
  • single leg deadlifts w/ kettlebell (10×3 each side)
  • single single leg squats (10×3 each side)
  • glute bridges (50×3)
  • planks (75 sec x 3)

Wednesday: 7 mile easy run @ an 8:40 pace. I ran 5 alone and then when Kevin got home, he joined me for the last 2. It was fun watching the sun set as we ran. The weather was really nice too – low 60’s – and people were taking advantage of that by using their grills. It was so hard running past the smell of grilled amazing deliciousness without salivating!


Thursday: 1 up, 3×1 mile repeats with 800m recovery in between, 1 down @ an average pace of 7:49. Mile repeat splits were 6:51, 7:03, and 6:55. I need to find a track because mile repeats with elevation changes are not the bees knees. My winter gear still hadn’t arrived, it was supposed to be in the 60’s again later in the day, and I had a dentist appointment at 2:30 so I decided to do this run after that instead of first thing in the morning. I picked out a half mile loop in my neighborhood that had some elevation changes that made these quite challenging. I decided during my first recovery that I started out too fast so I tried to start out slower for the second and it clearly affected me. Oh well, lesson learned. Afterwards, Kevin and I went to trivia night (he’s the host!) at Adventure Brewing. Ready for my rest day!


Friday: Rest day. After work I picked the kids up, we had our standard dinner the night before a long run – pizza!! – and we had movie night – we watched Frozen for the millionth time – with popcorn and lots of cuddles! It was a perfect night! 

Saturday: 14 mile long run @ an 8:31 average pace. Splits were 8:49, 8:39, 8:38, 8:40, 8:41, 8:38, 8:44, 8:29, 8:18, 8:17, 8:23, 8:19, 8:20, and 8:17. I took my time getting out the door and started around 8am. It was in the low 40’s and sunny. 7 miles later it was in the low 60’s. This weather pattern mimicked the typical race weather for the marathon I’m running which was kind of cool to experience. I felt a little more run down than usual after this run. I think it’s because I am a week out from being sick for 2 straight weeks and it’s just taking me some time to get back to 100%. 


Total Mileage for the week: 33 

This week I signed up for two races that I’m excited about! One is a local turkey trot 5k that Kevin is running with me. I am shooting for a PR in this race. I also signed up for a local half marathon on December 4th, the Blue & Gray Half that I also hope to PR in – though I’m giving myself more grace with that one because of Hospital hill. I’ve run it before and it still catches me off guard every time.

Last weeks training recap:

Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 4

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

