Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 6

This week flew by! It’s crazy that I’m now 1/3rd of the way through training. I honestly didn’t think I’d make it this far. Coming off an injury, every run has been met with a slight nervousness that “this run is the one that will re-injure me” but here I am still going strong!

Sunday: 3 mile recovery run @ a 9:01 average pace on the treadmill. The first few weeks of training have not included a recovery run but I was itching to run today so I decided to hop on the treadmill before football started.

The kids typically want to crawl all over me while I stretch and foam roll so I decided this time around I would take the opportunity to give them a lesson on the importance of stretching. 😊

Monday: 6 mile tempo run @ a 7:31 average pace. Splits were 8:05, 7:54, 7:46, 7:18, 7:11, and 6:54. After work I drove to a nearby elementary school and set out on an out and back route parallel to a heavily traveled stretch of road. My hope was to keep a steady 7:40 pace for the duration of the run but it quickly became apparent that I wasn’t going to be able to do that with the wind being a factor for the first 3 miles. Wind conditions were around 7 mph with gusts up to 24 mph and it felt like I had a parachute attached to my back. The 2nd half of the run was amazing and I even broke into the sub-7s with my last split!

img_0005

Tuesday: 6 mile easy/recovery run @ a 9:03 average pace. I thoroughly enjoyed this run and the beautiful sunset that came with it. Everything felt so calm and peaceful and I really got to take in the sights, sounds, and smells along the route. I was able to reflect a lot on this run and came away feeling so happy, excited, and grateful for all of life’s little pleasures and for my family. 

Wednesday: Strength training. I almost forgot to get this workout done after getting the kids fed, bathed, and down for bed. I went to change into comfy clothes and thought “oh damn.” So I swapped the comfy clothes for workout clothes and headed downstairs to get it done. The workout was as follows:

  • kettlebell swings (50×3)
  • goblet squats (25×3)
  • side lunges with therapy band 
  • single leg squats (10×3 each side)
  • single leg deadlifts (10×3 each side)
  • glute bridges (50×3)
  • planks (75 sec x3)

Thursday: Turkey Trot 5k in 22:10 for an average 7:08 pace. Splits on my watch were 6:53, 7:07, 7:04, and 6:38 for .17 miles. I ran long by .07 so my watch registered my 5k time as 21:47. I’m so thrilled with how this race went. I’m not a speedy person and my talent is best utilized in endurance races so I’m super happy that I PR’d! After the race, we headed to my parents house for the rest of the day to enjoy time with the kids – we had them until 2pm –  and some good food and the early football games before heading to Kevin’s sister and BIL’s house to watch the Steelers game. We spent the night there since it would save us an hour or so on our drive to South Carolina in the morning.


Friday: Rest day. We spent a few hours traveling to South Carolina where Kevin’s family lives to have 2nd Thanksgiving with them – OMG we are stuffed. The food was so good! After dinner we caught up on Survivor and then played a “fast” version of Monopoly. Kevin won. Surprise surprise! 

Saturday: 16 mile long run on a portion of the Myrtle Beach Marathon course @ an 8:33 average pace. Too many splits to list so here’s a picture haha.

The weather was gorgeous for this run! Towards the end I could tell I still need to work on strengthening my pelvic floor muscles – thanks to my kids 😜 – but other than that I was very pleased with my effort! Kevin rode his bike the entire time with me and chatted me up so the miles just flew by! Later we all went out for dinner and drinks! 

We ran into a geese crossing!

Total Mileage for the week: 35

Next weekend I might be running a local half marathon instead of my long run. I still haven’t decided but I need to soon. I’m just so nervous to reinjure myself! These long runs have done little to build my confidence level back up. I’m not sure what it will take.

Last weeks recap: 

Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 5


About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

