Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 7

This week was challenging because I spent most of it second-guessing my training and whether or not I was doing what was best for my body, my goals, and my health. I was sick for the second time in 3 weeks and I felt like my training had lost its purpose. It’s hard to explain but after talking it through with Kevin, and him reaffirming that he’s my biggest fan and supporter, I felt better. Hopefully it lasts. Here’s how week 7 went.

Sunday: 3 mile easy/recovery run @ an 8:31 pace. I tried to run slower but this just felt slow enough so I “ran” with it haha. After driving in a car for 8 hours it actually felt good to run, even on the treadmill. I was feeling stuffy and sick again and running actually opened up my sinuses for a bit which was nice.


Monday: 6 mile progressive MP run @ an 8:00 average. My new garmin foot pod came so after calibrating it, I chose to do this run on the treadmill to test it out. Splits were 8:18, 8:11, 8:04, 7:55, 7:50, and 7:40. I had the treadmill speed set lower than what these splits read but the effort level felt right so that would explain why the treadmill feels harder.


Tuesday: Unscheduled rest day. I slept terribly the night before and just didn’t have a strength training session in me. I’m congested and coughing again so there’s that!

Wednesday: 1 up, 6 tempo @ a 7:44 average pace, 1 down for 8 total miles. Splits were 8:49, 7:49, 7:47, 7:48, 7:44, 7:41, 7:37, and 8:40. After two days with the kiddos and terrible sleep because we’re all sick, I’m really proud of myself for getting this run done!

I ran into Kevin in the neighborhood a couple times while running which was fun. Seeing him gave me a little boost of energy! I ended November with 125 miles! Time to catch up on some much needed sleep!

Thursday: 8 mile easy run @ a 9:20 average pace. I made sure to run this at a nice and slow pace – something I need to make more of an effort to do on easy run days. I was able to run miles 6-7 with Kevin which was awesome! Afterwards, we went to trivia at Adventure Brewing before our weekend with the kids. Can’t wait to see them!!

Friday: 4 mile easy run on the treadmill before work @ an 8:54 average pace. Splits were progressively consistent – 9:02, 8:55, 8:52, and 8:48. I don’t normally run in the mornings unless it’s a race because I can just never seem to wake up early enough to get going so these morning miles surely were a treat. They felt good too coming off back to back 8 mile days. Feeling strong!

Saturday: Strength training day. I wanted to get this done Friday night but I was exhausted after the kids went to bed so today had to do. I’m running a local half marathon tomorrow and without a proper taper, I’m clueless as to how I will do. Today’s workout consisted of:

  • Kettle bell swings (50×3)
  • Goblet squats (25×3)
  • Side lunges with therapy band (doubled up on the bands today!)
  • Single leg deadlifts (10×3)
  • Pistol squats (10×2)
  • Glute bridges (50×3)
  • Planks 1×90 sec & 2×75 sec

Afterwards, I showered really quick and we all headed out to Kevin’s sister and BIL’s house to let the cousins play while we made some cookies and played some card games before heading back home to eat dinner, watch Frozen (again!), and head to bed.

Steph and Kev enjoying Frozen

Total Mileage for the week: 42 (includes Sunday’s half marathon that can be found here)

Last weeks recap:

Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 6

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 7

  1. Elizabeth C. says:

    Yay- I found your blog and I’m now following you. It will be awesome to see your training for Myrtle Beach. Great week and it was such a smart call to take an unscheduled rest day if you didn’t sleep well. Nicely done on the tempo.

Leave a Reply

