Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 9

Well I really hope the sickness is gone. These last 2 weeks of training have not gone according to plan and I have had to become quite adaptable to change which is not my strong suit. I ended this week strong though and that is what I will focus on. One thing I’m quite proud of is that I haven’t relied on the treadmill like I thought I would once I got it. I was afraid I would begin to choose it more and more for my runs as the temperature dropped but thankfully I’ve still managed to get outdoors quite a bit! I’m very excited to get in a full week of training in week 10. But first, here is how this week went. 

Sunday: 3 mile progression run @ an 8:05 average pace. Splits were 8:35, 8:07, and 7:35. I was finally feeling on the mend from bronchitis but I wasn’t up for the scheduled 6 mile run on my training program so I set out for an easy 3 and figured I would run based off feel. I felt good so hopefully I can get back to my regularly scheduled training. I also got to test out my new running shoes – Brooks Launch 3 – and I love them! The 4s come out in less than a month and I can’t wait to scoop those up! I think they will be the shoe I run the marathon in! Exciting!


Monday: 6 total miles – 1 up, 1×400, 1×800, 1×1200, 1×1600, 1.5 down (400m recovery between each). See picture for paces – all of which met or exceeded my goal paces for the marathon! I chose to cut the “down” portion of this ladder workout out because I wanted to make sure I wasn’t pushing myself too soon after recovering from bronchitis. 


Tuesday: Oh boy…Wednesday…what a day! It was a scheduled rest day and boy did I require it. I woke up feeling just fine, got ready for work, took my antibiotic, and headed out to drop the girls off with my stepmom for daycare. Within an hour I started feeling insanely nauseous. It had gotten so bad by noon that I had to go home from work. I threw up 5 times and spent the rest of the night laying on the couch just waiting for the nausea to subside. Thankfully Kevin was able to help me with the kids before bedtime or I would have been screwed. Here’s an insanely cute picture of our stockings instead of my sick mug. 🙂 This was my view for the night! The boys’ stockings are holdovers until my stepmom makes them matching ones like the girls!

Wednesday: Recovery day from throwing up the day before. I felt much better but was incredibly weak from the combination of not eating and throwing up. 

Thursday: 7 mile easy run @ an 8:35 average pace on the treadmill due to wind gusts of up to 21 mph! I felt back to my normal self finally so I hopped right back into my training schedule! I was starting to think I was broken and would never feel this way again! 

Friday: 8 mile easy run @ an 8:51 average pace. Splits were almost progressive! 9:13, 8:58, 8:52, 8:47, 8:46, 8:49, 8:45, and 8:41. I woke up at 5:30am feeling refreshed and ready to run which is not like me at all. I’m definitely not a morning running person but we have the kids this weekend  – thank God I remembered to move Elfie the Elf lol – so it was now or never. I felt great and if I had more time, I would have gladly fit in a few more miles! Tonight we are taking the kids outside – super bundled up because it’s so cold! ❄️❄️❄️ – to see the Santa Fire Truck. 

Saturday: 14 mile long run @ an 8:21 average pace with a fast finish. Splits were 8:55, 8:37, 8:40, 8:41, 8:38, 8:42, 8:53, 8:30, 8:17, 8:11, 7:43, 8:02, 7:46, 7:33. I struggled at the beginning of this run because it was in the middle of the day due to the streets being a sheet of ice in the morning. Once I got going though I felt good thankfully but quickly realized I had overdressed when the sun began to shine. I was able to get 11 miles in my neighborhood and surrounding neighborhoods and finished the last 3 on the treadmill after a quick outfit change. I decided to do a fast finish because I was unable to get my tempo run done earlier in the week due to sickness.

Total Mileage for the week: 34 

Last weeks recap: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 8

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 9

  1. Elizabeth C. says:

    Glad you are no longer sick. You still have plenty of time to train for the marathon and I don’t think this will set you back at all. Great job getting back out there!

Leave a Reply

