Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 11

Holy cow I can’t believe I ran 50 miles this week. I had to check the math a few times because I just didn’t believe it. Not only did I run my highest mileage week ever but I also ran my highest mileage month! 167 total miles for December! That is crazy to me because I missed a few runs at the beginning of the month due to bronchitis and even skipped a run or 2 these past 2 weeks. Crazy!! 2016 has been a great year and I can’t wait to see what 2017 has in store! I am heading into the new year happy and healthy both physically and emotionally and for that I am so grateful! Onto the weekly recap. 

Sunday: 1 up, 7 tempo, 1 down for 9 total miles @ a 7:48 average pace. Today was Christmas Day and we didn’t get the kids until 2pm so I needed to fill my time. Kevin and I were able to have our own little Christmas that was amazing and then I set out on my run. I wasn’t sure how I would feel because we had a fun breakfast that was accompanied by Kentucky Christmas Morning (a really great beer) but once I got going my legs felt great! Splits were 7:32, 7:29, 7:33, 7:32, 7:31, 7:31, and 7:23. Merry Christmas to me!! 

Monday: Rest day. Kevin and I were off work and had the kids all day and while I should have run my 6 mile easy run, I really wanted to enjoy the entire day with the kids and celebrate the Steelers making the playoffs so I decided to move my rest day up a day. I’ll run more consecutive days later in the week. I love these kids so the break was so worth it! 

Tuesday: 2 up, 6x800m with 400 RI, 1.5 down for 8 total miles @ an 8:04 average pace. Repeat splits were 3:17, 3:16, 3:14, 3:15, 3:16, and 3:15. We have the kids today so in order to minimize time spent away from them, I took off work early to get this done before picking them up. The last time I ran 800m repeats on the treadmill I set it to the same speed but today it registered 5-10 seconds slower per repeat which was fine as each was still under my goal of 3:20 but they just FELT SO DIFFICULT. I did speed up the recovery pace from 9:15 to 8:25 so maybe that’s why. Very proud of the effort! 

Wednesday: 8 easy miles @ an 8:57 average pace. Normally I take a rest day after speedwork but since I took one on Monday, I had to move some things around. One thing I’m proud of with this training schedule is how flexible I’ve been able to be without freaking out over every detail. It’s been very nice!! I got caught in the dark without any reflective gear on this run so thankfully I was in my well lit neighborhood that has sidewalks. 

Thursday: 1 up, 8 tempo, 1 down @ a 7:42 average pace. Tempo average was 7:29. Not too shabby given the hilly route and wind gusts of up to 15 mph! Kevin mapped out a route for me that had me start and end at different places so that I could try and avoid some killer hills in his old stomping grounds. It worked out well because I finished the run a few minutes after he got off work so he was able to pick me up. I felt so strong on this run despite feeling a cold coming on. It’s given me so much confidence for my marathon goal! 

Friday: Unexpected rest day. I was feeling under the weather and my nose was stuffed up – surprise surprise – and I didn’t want to make it worse for my long run on Saturday so I took it easy and rested on the couch. 

Saturday: 15 miles @ an 8:21 average pace. I was feeling quite sluggish at the start but was able to get into a groove after a few miles thankfully. Splits were 8:49, 8:40, 8:41, 8:40, 8:38, 8:37, 8:33, 8:08, 7:54, 8:07, 8:03, 8:14, 8:16, 8:09, and 7:53. I let the route and how I was feeling dictate my pace so that is why the splits are all wonky. Afterwards I met Kevin at a local playground with the kids and let them run off some energy before heading back home. 

Total Mileage for the week: 50

Last weeks recap: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 10

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 11

  1. You are making very impressive gains, Laura. Look at your 8-mile tempo pace compared to your 10-mile PR pace. The tempo pace is faster! So you are just flying along with this training. 50 miles a week is very solid. Congrats, and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

