Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 13

Week 13 was good to me. With all that was going on in my personal life – which I leave out of this because I don’t want it to take away any of the focus – I didn’t miss a single run, I ran my highest mileage week ever, I got 2 new watch PRs in the 10k distance during training runs, and I had such a strong long run that left me feeling like my unicorn is nearly within reach! Just 7 weeks remain! Onto the recap:

Sunday: 6 mile easy run @ an 8:48 average pace in the greatest city ever, Pittsburgh!! Kevin and I woke up and hit the hotel treadmills while watching The NFL Network preview the upcoming game. I loved having his company next to me and after he finished his run, he even stuck around while I finished mine. Love him! ❤️ The Steelers won by the way and we had so much fun bundling up and watching the game! 

Monday: 1 up, 6×1 mile at 10 seconds faster than tempo pace with 400m recovery, 1.5 down for 10 total miles. Mile repeat splits were 7:12, 7:09, 7:06, 6:58, 6:58, and 6:55. We got home from Pittsburgh last night around 11:30 and I was so afraid of this run that I contemplated skipping it for most of the drive last night but I was able to drag myself out of bed after roughly 5.5 hours of sleep and it ended up being the exact opposite. My goal tempo pace for this marathon training schedule is 7:49 but I’ve been hitting 7:25-7:30 so I went for 7:10 repeats. I ran on the treadmill because temps were in the teens and it looked slick outside. So happy I didn’t skip this run!! My watch even greeted me with a shiny new PR in the 10k distance after just getting one last week lol. 

Tuesday: Rest day hallelujah! After work, I picked up the kids and Kevin brought home a cake for my daughters 2nd birthday. It was a great night! 

Wednesday: 1 up, 8 @ tempo pace, 1 down for 10 total miles. Splits ➡️ 8:32, 7:26, 7:22, 7:23, 7:21, 7:21, 7:21, 7:20, 6:57, 8:19. I was nervous about starting in the 7:20s but I wanted to challenge myself and it ended up working out quite nicely. I’m starting to rethink my marathon goal – because I’m crushing my paces and I still have 8 weeks left – and am running a 15k in Myrtle Beach next week to see where I’m at. I wanted to run a half marathon as a tune-up race but there aren’t any that are within a feasible traveling distance from me so the 15k will have to do! 

Thursday: 8 mile easy run @ an 8:49 average pace. I’m not due for new running shoes for about another 2 weeks but I ordered my next pair – Launch 4s – and they arrived today so I had to try them out! I’ve been a Launch fan since I tried out the 2s (the shoe at the top) I LOVE them and I think the 4s (the shoe at the bottom) will be my marathon shoe. ❤💜 Kevin joined me for miles 6-7 and it really helped speed up the run! And umm how about the weather?! It was 70 degrees!! Only negative was that it was incredibly windy!

Friday: 7 easy miles @ an 8:32 average pace. I woke up at 5:45am to get this run done – something unheard of in my house if you know me. I am not a morning person. Very proud of myself! Because it was still dark out, I kept it to the treadmill which was quite boring but such is life during the winter months. 

Saturday: 16 miles @ an 8:11 average pace. I was relegated to the treadmill again which surprisingly wasn’t so bad! It makes no sense haha. First 10 miles I ran @ an 8:29 average pace and the last 6 I ran @ a 7:35 average pace (a little faster than goal marathon pace). Breaking up the run into two sections helped give me something to look forward to. Even better, not once did I feel fatigued. I could have easily run some more which is yet another huge confidence booster heading into week 14 of training. 

Total Mileage for the week: 57

Last weeks recap: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 12

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 13

  1. Elizabeth C. says:

    Amazing progress. I’ve rarely, if ever, seen someone get so much faster in such a short amount of time. You might see this from someone who is a beginner- but you were already fast to begin with. WOW. I also won’t have a half marathon tune up race due to Disney being cancelled, and there are no others within driving distance. It’s great you found a 15K, as I will have to settle for another 10K instead! Keep on crushing it!

  2. Laura says:

    You are nailing the training- so exciting! I agree that you might want to tweak your goal a bit for race day!!

Leave a Reply

