Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 15

Another good week of training is in the books and I’m so happy with how it went. I was really nervous at the start of the week when I had to skip Monday’s run because of rain and travel and then had to cut my 7 miler down to 2 on Tuesday because dinner didn’t agree with me. I rebounded really well and am proud of myself for not getting down about it all. I ended the week with the strongest 16 miles I’ve ever run! Here’s the recap! 

Sunday: 8 mile easy paced run @ an 8:48 average pace. I ran an extra .6 to round out the .4 (according to my watch) from the 15k the day prior. Kevin ran the first 3 with me and then rode his bike next to me for the other 5.6. Having him with me makes time fly. It was pretty gloomy and my legs were pretty sore but it felt good to shake them out nonetheless. Love our time in Myrtle Beach together with his family. 

Monday: Unscheduled rest day. My plan called for 3×2 mile repeats with 800m recovery in between but it was raining pretty bad when we woke up and we had to get on the road to drive 6 hours home and get the kiddos so I knew it wasn’t going to happen. I was okay with that! 

Tuesday: 2 mile easy run @ an 8:58 average pace. I was supposed to run 7 miles but my dinner didn’t agree with me and was sloshing around in my stomach so I decided not to push further and try and make up the mileage throughout the rest of the week.


Wednesday: 2 up, 3×2 mile repeats with 800m recovery, 1.5 down for 11 total miles. I added a mile to my warm up to make up 1 of the 5 miles I needed from Tuesday. I was very eager to get back on track after an unscheduled rest day and a failed 7 mile run turned into 2 miles. Thankfully, this run went just as planned! Splits were as follows:

Warm up: 9:00, 8:53

3×2 mile: 7:24, 7:22, 8:28 (800m), 7:20, 7:18, 8:27 (800m), 7:18, 7:19, 8:25 (800m)

Cool down: 8:48, 8:43 (800m)

Thursday: 8 mile easy run @ an 8:40 average pace. The goal for this run was to keep it easy so after work I hit the treadmill since it was really windy outside and I knew it would take more effort than I wanted to exert to hold the same pace. I got to test out my  new shirt that I ordered and I love it!! I also switched over to my next pair of running shoes since my previous pair had about 315 miles on them. These are the Launch 4 (previous shoe was the Launch 3).

Friday: 1 up, 9 @ ~10 seconds faster than goal MP, 1 down for 11 total miles @ a 7:52 average pace. Splits were as follows:

1 warm up – 9:11

 9 @ tempo – 7:39, 7:34, 7:38, 7:38, 7:37, 7:38, 7:38, 7:39, 7:34 

1 cool down – 8:49

I had to get up at 5:00am to complete this run in time to be at work and I was so proud of myself for doing so. I’m the furthest from a morning person! My legs felt a little heavy since I had just run the night before but that’s my only complaint!

Saturday: 16 mile long run @ a 7:55 average pace. Yes!!! This run was such a confidence booster for my marathon! I ran an out and back route that can be quite windy at times and is mostly flat to simulate race conditions. I didn’t check my watch for the first 5 miles. I was running what felt like a super easy pace and when mile 6 beeped at 8:01 I though “wow!” and figured I would keep going with what felt good. A mile or two later I figured I would stick close to the 7:50-8:00 range but when mile 11 beeped at 7:34 I was even more shocked than before! I’m coming for you Myrtle Beach Marathon!!

Total Mileage for the week: 56.6 

Last weeks recap: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 14

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 15

  1. Elizabeth C. says:

    What a great week you had– and it’s great that you didn’t let Monday-Tuesday get you down. It actually may have been the rest you needed to kill the workouts you had later in the week. Hope you are recovering well from your long run! Can’t wait to meet you in person.

Leave a Reply

