Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 16

Another good week of running is in the books. I realized this week that by the time of the marathon, my new shoes will have more miles on them than I’d like so I had to order another pair that I will switch into in about a week and a half. I want my marathon shoes to have about 100 miles on them when I line up on race day. I can’t wait for this month to be over! Race day, my birthday, I can FINALLY file for divorce. So much to look forward to! Onto the recap.

Sunday: 8 miles @ an 8:43 average pace. My legs felt pretty heavy all day from my long run the day prior and Kevin, myself, and the kids met up with the rest of my family for brunch to celebrate my stepmoms 50th birthday so this run didn’t get done until late in the day. It almost didn’t happen but thankfully Kevin understands the importance of each and every run and pushes me out the door – or into the garage in this case – even when I don’t want to! 😊

Monday: 1 up, 2×3 mile repeats with 1 mile recovery, 1 down for 9 total miles @ a 7:52 average pace. Splits were:

1 up – 8:52

2×3 mile repeats – 7:32, 7:27, 7:25, 8:38 (recovery mile), 7:24, 7:23, 7:23

1 down – 8:37

I used this run to test out my marathon outfit – though I’m still on the fence about my compression socks – and everything worked out great so I’m happy about that! And I’ll be wearing contacts for the race too! 😜

Tuesday: 6 miles @ an 8:37 average pace. I closed out the month of January with an easy 6 miles to bring my total monthly mileage to 240. 240!! That number is insane to me. I’ve never run over 200 miles let alone come close to 200 miles in a given month. I’m so happy because I feel stronger than I ever have when I thought I would feel incredibly tired. To celebrate, Kevin and I went to a tap house for dinner and drinks before heading home to catch up on some of our TV shows. 

Wednesday: 1 up, 9 tempo, 1 down for 11 total miles @ a 7:46 average pace. Splits were as follows:

1 up – 8:56

9 tempo – 7:37, 7:35, 7:34, 7:33, 7:33, 7:32, 7:30, 7:30, 7:30

1 down – 8:36

Considering I feel a slight cold coming on, this run felt really great. I was able to hold a consistent pace that is between 10-20 seconds faster than my goal marathon pace and I felt strong doing so. Not to mention I was up at 5:15am in order to get this run done. I’m NOT an early riser!

Thursday: Rest day. I actually wasn’t looking forward to this day. I always feel like I’m getting into such a good rhythm and then, bam! Rest day. 

Friday: 8 mile easy paced run @ an 8:37 average. I struggled to get through this run mentally and physically. The first run after a rest day is always so tough for me. While running though, I did decide it was time to let go of all my retired running shoes so after my run, Kevin and I went through our belongings and donated a bunch of clothes and my running shoes. 

Saturday: 12 mile long run @ a 7:52 average pace. I’m trying to run my last few long runs close to or at race pace to get myself ready for the marathon. Throughout the run I thought to myself “I feel like I’m slowing down” and when I would look at my watch, I was running faster than my previous mile so that’s a great sign! Kevin rode his bike with me and we rode through his old stomping grounds. We parked at Heroic Aleworks – a new brewery near us that has a comic strip super hero vibe – and ran through Veterans Park where he used to play baseball and then ran by Belmont Bay where we got married – albeit not to each other (can’t wait for that day to come!!) – and back to the brewery to enjoy some beer. A wonderful little Saturday. 

Total Mileage for the week: 54

Last weeks recap: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 15

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

