Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 17

At this point in my 20 week training program I for sure thought I would be completely burned out and running on fumes/dead legs but it seems like each week I feel stronger than before. I cannot believe I only have 3 weeks left. 21 days!!! I’m honestly just as excited about NOT training and running for fun with Kevin as I am to race the marathon! This week Kevin got me the Roll Recovery R8 roller and I have to say it is quite painful but after one half hearted use just to test it out I can tell it’s special! I highly recommend it. Best Valentines gift ever!! Onto the recap! 

Sunday: 6 mile easy paced run @ an 8:40 pace. Kevin and I had such eventful morning sleeping in and taking care of things around the house that I nearly forgot to get my run done. I was feeling completely unmotivated so thankfully he agreed to ride his bike alongside me to keep me company. It really helped! Afterwards, we headed to the brewery he used to host trivia at for a private Super Bowl party. It was a blast! 

Monday: 1 up, 3×2 mile repeats with 800m recovery between, .5 down for 9 total miles @ a 7:51 average pace. 

1 up @ 8:47

3×2 mile repeats @ 7:36, 7:33, 8:34 (800m recovery), 7:28, 7:30, 8:32 (800m recovery), 7:21, 7:19

.5 down @ 8:23

I was up late the night before for the game but I didn’t let that deter me! Although I’ll be honest, it almost did. Just 2 more strength workouts remain before the big race!! 

Tuesday: Rest day. The weather was amazing all day so after work I opened up the back door and listening to Kevin and the kids play in the back yard while I made them dinner. I loved every second! Autumn wouldn’t lay still for a pic haha. 

Wednesday: 1 up, 10 @ ~20 seconds faster than goal MP, 1 down for 12 total miles @ a 7:39 average pace. I was super happy with my consistent effort on these splits until the last mile. I was feeling antsy and just wanted to be done. 

Tempo splits: 7:31, 7:29, 7:29, 7:29, 7:29, 7:29, 7:30, 7:32, 7:29, 7:04

I immediately ran into the house to see what Kevin was cooking for dinner (he was surprising me so maybe that’s why I was antsy!) and he greeted me with some of the best pretzel bites and cheese I’ve ever tasted! Such a yummy appetizer. 2 more of these tempo runs left! I’m feeling strong and confident and ready to tackle the marathon!

Thursday: 7 mile easy run @ an 8:51 average pace. After work, I drove home to get my run started. I ran the first 4 on the treadmill while it snowed (Virginia weather is so wacky!!) and then when Kev got home, we ran the last 3 together outdoors. I think we’re both ready for my marathon training to be done so we can run together more often. 🙂

Friday: 8 mile easy run @ an 8:30 average pace. I woke up a little early to get this run done before work because it’s our weekend with our kids. I love these weekends!! Full of insanity and laughter! In the picture are what I thought would be my marathon shoe (pink Launch 4s) and what WILL be my marathon shoe (grey Launch 4s) because after doing some math I realized I would have too many miles on the pink ones by race day. Running is expensive!! 

Saturday: 16 mile long run @ a 7:51 average pace. Splits were 8:14, 8:09, 8:07, 8:05, 8:05, 8:02, 7:46, 7:41, 7:41, 7:43, 7:44, 7:47, 7:45, 7:44, 7:44, and 7:18.  My older daughter attends gymnastics on Saturday mornings at 10am so I stuck to the treadmill to ensure we wouldn’t be late. I broke the run up into 2, a 6 mile run close to goal marathon pace and a 10 mile “tempo” run, to break up the monotony. The hunger was real while sitting at gymnastics directly after completing my LAST long run before race day!! 🙌🏻



Total Mileage for the week: 58

Last weeks recap: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 16

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 17

  1. Elizabeth C. says:

    That’s a lot of miles. I’m so happy your training is going so well! Awesome week!

Leave a Reply

