Myrtle Beach Marathon – Week 20

It’s the final week! All the preparation, the blood, sweat, and tears comes down to this final week! 

Sunday: 6 mile progressive run @ a  7:56 average pace. Oh boy this run nearly didn’t happen. I was just over it and it took the entire day for me to finally get it done. I don’t normally run past 5pm but I ran at 7pm and surprisingly felt okay. Splits were 8:16, 8:06, 7:59, 7:54, 7:43, and 7:40. 

Monday: 6 mile “easy” run, 2 alone @ a 7:50 average pace and 4 with Kevin @ an 8:29 average pace. The weather was nice outside so when I got home, I laced up and ran until Kevin got home and then he joined me. My legs feel ready!

Tuesday: Another day, another 6 miles in the books. This time I ran 4 on the treadmill and then 2 with Kev when he got home from work. We got caught in a rainstorm which – aside from hating the rain – was actually pretty fun! 

Wednesday: Happy birthday to me!! Rest day. To celebrate, the night before we went to dinner with my parents and tonight we sung happy birthday and had cake with the kids. I also got the coolest news! I was selected to be a momentum jewelry ambassador. Their inspirational products are amazing and helped me get through the final stretch of my training! My heart is so happy today! 


Thursday: 4 easy miles @ an 8:45 pace. This is my final training run and it almost didn’t happen. At this point I was just over it but after the kids were in bed, I was somehow able to muster up the energy to get it done on the treadmill. I’m glad I did! 

Friday: Rest day. We spent the day driving to Myrtle Beach, going to packet pick up at the expo, and eating dinner with Kevin’s family at Mellow Mushroom.   I really enjoyed the expo aside from having to pay for parking. I bought some arm sleeves to wear at the start of the race because the temps were going to be a little colder than expected, we took some pictures, and sampled the nasty beer available -Michelob Ultra lol. 

Saturday: Race day!! After dragging myself out of bed at 4:30am, I raced 26.2 miles @ a 7:45 average pace for a finish time of 3:23:15 – a Boston Qualifier by almost 17 minutes!! I’m keeping it short and sweet here because Im going to do a full race recap soon! 

Total Mileage for the week: 48.2

Last weeks recap: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 19

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Myrtle Beach Marathon – Week 20

  1. Amy Lauren says:

    So proud of you! Congratulations on an excellent time in MB and BQing and placing :). What an amazing weekend. I hope you guys had fun in MB and a safe trip home as well.

  2. Elizabeth C. says:

    Based on everything I’ve seen from you- you have an enormous amount of natural talent and potential. You were able to tap into it by training properly, so that combination of knowing how to train, having the dedication, plus natural talent/genetics positions you to be a really fast marathon runner. I am predicting even faster for you in Boston. Our times are close enough that we may get to start in the same corral! Congrats again, I’m so impressed with you.

Leave a Reply

