Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 10

It’s been a wonderful holiday week! I took an extra rest day this week due to unforeseen circumstances but it all worked out anyway! I had originally pushed my tempo run to Saturday but we ended up moving furniture around all day and putting toys together for Christmas so I pushed it to Sunday. It will be included in my week 11 recap. Hint: I crushed it. 😊

Sunday: 8 mile easy/recovery run @ a 9:02 average pace. Splits were 9:19, 9:06, 9:12, 9:11, 9:16, 8:51, 8:43, and 8:41. Virginia weather is crazy! Yesterday it was below freezing, the ground was a sheet of ice, and it was freezing rain until the afternoon when the sun came out and it was in the mid 50s. Today it was in the 60s and gloomy and I got to run outside in shorts and a short sleeved shirt. I thoroughly enjoyed this run because I love running in that type of weather! 

Monday: 2 mile warm up, 3×1 mile with 400m RI, 1.25 mile cool down for 7 total miles. I was nervous about this run for two reasons – 1) typically I do 800m recovery in between mile repeats so I didn’t know what to expect and 2) it was my 5th straight day of running to include 7 miles, 8 miles, 14 miles, and 8 miles and I wasn’t sure how my legs would respond. I started out conservatively and picked up the pace each mile. Splits were 7:10, 7:00, and 6:50. I definitely could have pushed harder and now that I know, I will adjust for the future. I was pretty excited with how easy the last repeat felt! I could have kept running which is a great sign of improvement! I forgot to take a picture for this run so here is a cute picture of my kids buying pizza for pizza Friday!! It’s a tradition of ours to eat pizza every Friday and they get so excited for it. 🙂 

Tuesday: Rest day! After work Kevin and I made a quick trip to Richmond, Va to visit The Veil Brewing Co which has some pretty amazing craft beer. Every Tuesday they do can releases so we picked up some cans and shared some beer that we intended to buy in cans but they had sold out already. It was a fun little date night. 😍

Wednesday: 6 mile easy run @ an 8:19 average pace. I didn’t mean to run that fast but I felt really good so I went along with it. It ended up being a nice progression run! Splits were 8:38, 8:30, 8:21, 8:19, 8:09, and 7:56. It was so cold outside – 26 degrees – and my bed was so comfy but I was able to muster up enough energy to drag myself outside to get it done. We have the kids tonight so it had to happen then. 

Thursday: 10 miles on the treadmill @ an 8:49 average pace. This run was so tough. My dinner did not agree with me running, I was tired and the “scenery” was boring, and I kept thinking I was hearing my youngest crying for me over one of the baby monitors. Splits were 9:02, 8:56, 8:54, 8:51, 8:49, 8:47, 8:45, 8:43, 8:46, and 8:41. Glad that is over with!! 

Friday: 10 miles @ an 8:06 average pace. I was able to get outdoors for this run and I was so happy for that. My legs felt super speedy and I almost decided to make it my tempo run but I know I didn’t fuel properly for that kind of run so I just let my legs do what they wanted to do. Merry Christmas Eve! 

Saturday: Rest day. I wanted to try and fit in my tempo run but Kevin and I spent the morning moving furniture all over the house and the afternoon putting together toys for the kids for Christmas. By the time the rain let up I was so exhausted that I knew better than to push it. 

Total Mileage for the week: 41

Last weeks recap: Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 9

About Runthusiast

Running enthusiast, health nut, mom, pinterest addict!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Myrtle Beach Marathon Training – Week 10

  1. Elizabeth C. says:

    Congratulations on a really strong training week. It’s great to see that you are handling the increased mileage so well and feeling good on your runs. I got a sneak preview of your tempo on IG! Nice job pushing through and doing all the hard work!

Leave a comment